The following states recognize the NC CHP:
- Provide your certificate of completion for an alaska conceal carry
approved training class. This means you must have first taken a firearms safety and training class.- Provide a release disclosing to the sheriff
any record concerning your mental health or capacity (you must be of sound mind to obtain a concealed carry permit and if they suspect you are susceptible to mental instability, they may not issue a permit to you)- The sheriff will do a NICS background check on you - this is required for new and renewing applicantsSo, you will need to have lived a fairly law-abiding life, take training ( North Carolina CHP training info here), and go through a simple application process to get your permit.Once you get your permit, it is valid for 5 years. Each time you renew, it is up to the sheriff to determine whether or not you must take additional training. Make sure you contact your sheriff before renewing to find out exactly what is expect of you. Click here to find the contact info of your local sheriff.North Carolina has various reciprocal agreements with other states.As a general rule, any permit from any state is valid in North Carolina, but if you have a North Carolina permit, you must first check with each state you will be travelling in to ensure you are legally allowed to carry concealed.
If you are thinking of getting a North Carolina Concealed Handgun Permit, this is the right place to start.Your permit will be issued by your local sheriff, so you will need to go to your local sheriff's office to apply for your permit.North Carolina is a Shall-Issue state, meaning that as long as you are not ineligible to obtain a firearm or concealed carry permit, the issuing authority shall grant you a permit to carry concealed. (The only things that can make you ineligible are things like being underaged, having been incarcerated for some types of crimes, etc.)You will have to follow these steps to obtain your license:- Get your application from the sheriff's office and fill it out honestly and accurately.- Pay the $80 fee ($75 for a renewal application)- Get 2 sets of fingerprints taken by the sheriff
(they will charge you up to $10 for this, so make sure you are aware that the process will cost up to $90, not including training)